I Look up to Tomb Raider

The original ad for StellaSport, the Adidas x Stella McCartney collaboration, made a a huge impact on me.

The video ties together brilliantly with featured track “Sick Beat” by Kero Kero Bonito, hitting on how the brand is drawing from Asian pop culture influences and youthful, uncompromising female attitude.

All the newer animated StellaSport videos seem to be lower production derivatives of this one, which Adidas has unlisted from their YouTube channel at the moment. It makes me wonder if there’s been a falling out somewhere.

The video was created by London based motion and design studio More and More ltd.

Below I’ve included exclusively the Japanese portion of the lyrics (with minor exceptions) via the Genius page translated by this user. Now that I understand these parts, the song’s message feels even stronger. The translation seems pretty accurate when I compared it to the Google Translate. That thing is getting better every day.

Sick Beat by Kero Kero Bonito (Japanese Portions)

It’s KKB! Let’s go!

Running, climbing, shooting, jumping
I wanna be Tomb Raider
She’s awesome and strong
I look up to Tomb Raider

Windows 98, remember those days?
Head stuck in the clouds, played every day
I promised I’d never lose and never give up
That promise I made to myself never fades

Time warp! I’m 22 years old
Change over into the adult world
People cheating and lying for money

Hard to keep up always stopping me but

I won’t forget, I won’t run away, never ever
The kid in me keeps pushing on through
Their fire, their heart
1、2、3
advancing on to the next level

I won’t be like everyone else
I’ll walk my own path
It’ll be lonely, and it’ll be hard
Everyone’ll make fun of me
The nail that sticks out gets hammered down
You hear that one a lot, don’t you?
Then let ‘em hammer all they want
I did it my way, this is my life

Standard

Leave a Reply

